The Spectre of Math

December 7, 2012

Bad memory

Filed under: Hacking,Mathematics,Technology — jlebl @ 6:47 am

So I just remembered, it wasn’t that we thought the computation (see a previous post) would take half a year, it would take 450 days on 3ghz CPU. I guess my memory was being optimistic. I remembered “half a year” when it was really “one and a half a year”. OK, so the computation has now been running for a bit over 2 weeks now on 4 cores. I guess I’m at least 10% there (I hope). It looks a bit worse from the output. It doesn’t seem computers have gotten all that much faster (not at all it seems at least on the load I am trying to do) in the past few years. The only thing better is more cores.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

