The Spectre of Math

September 10, 2009

More sketch fun and more textbook fun

Filed under: Hacking,LaTeX,Mathematics,Teaching,Technology — jlebl @ 10:33 pm

I have to brag. Here are some more fun sketch pics. These are probably very close to what we’ll actually put into the paper. Marketa said that the second one looks like bublanina.

more sample sketch pics

On not really related note the rate of downloads for my diffyqs notes is rising in the last week. I think I’m detecting the start of semester for many US colleges. I bet it will increase even more once the fall semester/quarter starts everywhere.

Now on related note, I’m typing up my notes for math 444 here, which is basic real analysis. So I’m writing another textbook: really baby analysis. Take baby Rudin and make it a lot less ambitious. If I were really crazy I could also take my sort of typed notes from last semester’s basic linear algebra and make those into a textbook … some other time I think, I didn’t really like the syllabus for that course, so if I were to make a textbook there it would differ more from the course here at UIUC.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

