The Spectre of Math

December 23, 2009

git tag WTF

Filed under: Hacking,Linux,Technology — jlebl @ 9:40 pm

So apparently I cannot make a tag without having some gpg signature nonsense in the gnome git. Given that I don’t use gpg, I now can’t make named tags for releases of genius and gob. At this point I am seriously enough annoyed to just take genius and gob and move both to someplace like sourceforge.

I mean really … WTF … I can add arbitrary code to the project without any sort of signing nonsense, but a simple tag requires my “signature”???? I want to know whatever people running the gnome git are smoking, because that stuff has to be GOOOOOOD.

I can’t fathom the apparent damage someone could do by making some tags on the code that the perpetrator cannot do by changing the code itself.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

