The Spectre of Math

August 7, 2010

I’m the 18th most prolific GNOME contributor?

Filed under: Hacking,Linux — jlebl @ 4:40 am

I’ve looked through the GNOME Census: Apparently in the 6 or 7 years that I’ve not worked on GNOME, I still have not managed to get out of the top 20, at least based on number of commits. By a rough estimate based on time being employed by Eazel, I guess about 1/3 or 1/4 or so of my commits were as Eazel employee. Meaning that probably I account for 1/4 or 1/5 of all Eazel commits to GNOME (that sounds kind of freaky).

What’s even more freaky is that I single handedly committed about 70% as much as Canonical (which had a longer time).

Someone (can’t remember who, I’m reading these blogs while moving half way cross country) said something about that Canonical should have hired some people to just “hack on cool GNOME stuff.” Well, that was essentially my job description at Eazel. So if I managed, over the 3-4 years of really being active on GNOME to have 0.7% of “activity” on GNOME over its lifetime. Than if Canonical would have recruited me (though I was probably unrecruitable by that time) or someone like me, they could over the past 6 years have more than doubled their “contribution.” They would probably have a lot more say in the future direction of GNOME as well. A couple of dedicated engineers are not expensive in the overall scheme of things for a company.

Now number of commits is not the best way to count contribution. I think it’s probably hard to measure Canonical’s contribution to GNOME and it’s likely bigger than indicated by the number of commits.

Still … 18th still? They aren’t trying very hard these days. Must be that they’re all mucking around with git instead of coding!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

